Fuel delivery problem

Fuel delivery problem

parkerinc

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1983 CJ-5 4.2 Liter 4 speed (project)
I have been out of the JEEP scene for a few years and just now getting back in with a 83 CJ5 straight six with the Carter BBD Carb. I am having trouble starting it. I crank it and its not getting any fuel in the carb. If I pump it a few times and still no fuel in the carb. If I pour a little gas in the carb it will start right up and then die out. I am hoping for some answers. I am not a mechanic but I know enough to be dangerous..lol but I am not afraid to get my hands dirty either. Thanks for the help.

Jim

Check your fuel pump and filter, is it supplying fuel to the carb? Could be rust in the tank or plugged fuel pick up too but I would start with seeing if your pump is working.

I put new filter in and I picked up a fuel pump too I will get that installed today I hope. Thanks for the info.

Jim

Put the new pump on, the old one looked pretty bad inside. I am still having some issues but the Jeep will start and run but I still need to mess with the carb for it to do so. I have to open and close the choke plate by hand to keep it running, do I assume the carburetor is bad?

you will need an adapter for an mc 2100, or a holley, i am not for sure about the weber, but an adapter is only about $15. tbi and mopar mpfi is fuel injection so it's way more expensive and technically involved. a weber carb should come with a throttle linkage but i am not for sure i haven't ever messed with one. an mc2100 and holley you have a couple of option for those you can make you a linkage or you can get a throttle cable from a mid to late 70's CJ5 or 7 with a v8 and completely replace you stock cable. again a cable is only about $15. there are plenty of write ups on doing a mc 2100 conversion on the web, which is probably the easiest and best bang for your buck.