Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1976 CJ-7
4.2L AMC I6
Borg-Warner T-4
Dana 20 Transfer Case
Dana 30 front
2-piece AMC 20 rear
I'm new to the whole Jeep thing, but I've looked into it and have wanted to be a part of it for some time. I recently acquired my first project, a '76 CJ7 , and while the frame looks solid and I've gotten the engine running well, I'm a little concerned about the body. Specifically, all the rust holes. More specifically, whether the seats are going to fall through while I'm driving. What would I look for and how should I go about making sure that its safe to drive? (Besides state inspection, of course. No way the old man will pass that yet.)

some pictures would be a good place to start. lets see how bad the rust is.:cool:

that's pretty rusted , for sure. Your options are, find a good used tub, find patch panels, make patch panels. Can you weld sheet metal? Do you want to learn?
I don't think the seats are going to fall through but the body mounts are in pretty bad shape. This is pretty much what a CJ is all about, if it was easy everybody would have one.:cool:
It's just one long learning experience. :D

I don't have a welder, but I'm not averse to learning, as long as it doesn't cost too much. What would you recommend?

I would recomend a small 110 volt mig , perfect for a home shop, and light metal work. They run about $500 from lowes. It should come with an instructional video. Find you some scrap steel and go at it. Patch panels are also pretty easy to come by. Your best bet for that tub is probably to replace it with a yj tub, you'll spend a small fortune on patch panels.

Sent from my DROID2

A mig welder, for the body- a small one. Harbor Freight has one on sale this month for $99. Its small but great for any body welding. Find a source for sheet metal, my preference is any heating and air shop since they have a lot of left overs. 16 gauge is perfect.