Build Thread Gravy's 79 CJ7 Build

Build Thread Gravy's 79 CJ7 Build

GravyProv1

Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1979 CJ7. 304V8, AMC20 Rear, Dana30 Front, T150, Dana20 xfer. 2.5" ProComp Lift. Fiberglass everything.
This is the build of my 1979 CJ7 . This was a Jeep owned by my late grandfather who passed in 1995. Jeep had basically been in a barn until it was finally given to me last September 2011. I've been working on it a little at a time since last year.

The engine and drivetrain are all stock and I don't plan to change it. Has a 304v8, T-150 3 speed, AMC20 rear diff, Dana 30 front diff. Jeep only has about 80k miles, so motor and drivetrain are in good shape.

I'm by no means a mechanic, so I had the front/rear differentials gone through by a local shop. Bascially new seals, bearings and brake hardware. Did change rear axle to a 1 piece.

Here are some pics at the beginning of the project.

Here are some pics since I have started the rebuild.

New fiberglass body delivered last week.

Got a good deal on it I think. $2k for the body, newer style roll bar and a set of nerf bars still in the box.

Same friend that sold me this also has a brand new one piece front end for about $600. He's going back to all metal on his project.

I have new metal fenders and my hood/grill are in good shape.

I'm still wrestling with going with one piece front end. Opinions vary I guess.

This is the build of my 1979 CJ7 . This was a Jeep owned by my late grandfather who passed in 1995. Jeep had basically been in a barn until it was finally given to me last September 2011. I've been working on it a little at a time since last year.

The engine and drivetrain are all stock and I don't plan to change it. Has a 304v8, T-150 3 speed, AMC20 rear diff, Dana 30 front diff. Jeep only has about 80k miles, so motor and drivetrain are in good shape.