Locker installation advise

Locker installation advise

Sasquach

Crazy Sr. Respected Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1978 CJ5, 258 w/4.0head, Mopar MPI, P.S., P.B.,Tilt wheel, No stereo, t-18, t-20, amc 20, dana-30 w/tru-trac, Warn full float w/locking hubs & Detroit locker in the AMC.
1964 CJ3B, 4-134
1952 M100 trailer
After going round and round on what to do with my diffs I have pretty much made up my mind to go with a Detroit locker in the AMC and the Tru Trac up front. I have been tempted to do the lunch box thing but decided I really need to get it right the first time.
I want to do the AMC first and go from there, I have the Warn full float axles and the stock trac loc w/ 3.54 gears. I have no experience with replacing a diff and was looking for any tips on what to expect, I did read the manufactures installation instructions and they seemed fairly straightforward and not "Rocket Surgery".

Not a bad job if your keeping the same ring & pinion.
You might need a friend that works in a machine shop or somewhere else that can take some measurments for you. You need to know the measurment from across the bearings of both to add or subtract shims for preload. And the distance from the bearing to the ringgear face to help set the gear play.
Measure the gear play in the old gears before you take it apart and set it the same after you put the detroit in.

Thanks Old Dog...I have the nessesary presision tools and the bearing width makes good sense but explain the gear play to me, I see you have in the ring with the dial on it but what are you doing? and how do you change the "gear play" if needed.

You adjust the backlash (play) by changing the shims on the ends of the bearings (thking them out of one side and putting them in the other side to keep the preload the same)