Propane.

Propane.

CJim7

Crazy Sr. Respected Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'84 CJ7 - 430hp 401 on propane - T18a/D300 twinsticked, Superior axles, Lockers, full boatsides, Warn 8274, OBA, 36" TSL's.
Anybody running propane on their engine?

I've been doing the research for a few years now on this conversion, read multiple articles and write-ups, and spoke with Gotpropane.com a few times through Email. I even bought a complete conversion kit last year...the price was a steal even though I wasn't quite ready for the conversion.

So in speaking with the owner of the shop that did the machine work on my 401, he suggests that I dont do the conversion. Claims heat would be a bad issue on a engine that traditionally runs hot anyways. He also said I would need to run different valves, guides, and seats...

Now this guy is reputable, he has been in the business for years and builds raceing motors so I dont really doubt his knowledge, but Im left scratching my head.

Everything I've heard, read, and seen, says you can slap on a propane conversion and not worry about it.

So does anyone here have experience running the stuff? IS there a heat issue combusting LPG rather then gasoline? I could just call Gotpropane and probably get an answer, but I thought this would be a good subject to discuss here....:chug:

Years ago I ran a duel-fuel set-up on a 350 sbc. I would run gas on the highway and switch to propane for off road.
sbc's don't run that hot though so I never had problems there.
As far as valves everything was stock 77 chevy.

Years ago I ran a duel-fuel set-up on a 350 sbc. I would run gas on the highway and switch to propane for off road.
sbc's don't run that hot though so I never had problems there.
As far as valves everything was stock 77 chevy.