Uh oh... once again...

Uh oh... once again...

gumbycj5

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1979 CJ5 304 v8, stock driveline
The jeep is throwing out problems.. im getting a "rattling" sound from my Transmission ... basically a peice of metal is floating around in there and hitting my gears... and well i already know its a syncro... but my question is *seeing as how im new to jeeps* whats the best way to remove the Transmission and open it up so i can fix my pesky lil problem... and check to make sure thats the only thing wrong?

:censored: happens over and over again.. but hey at least its cheap to fix!.....for the most part

normally I would say drain the oil and let the metal shavings drain out but you make it sound like it's a piece of metal that broke off inside your Transmission .
Do you know what Transmission you have? 3 speed? 4 speed? Drain your oil. On the side of the tranny there should be an PTO access plate. Remove that to see what the metal piece is and where it came from.
Synco? How's it shift?

normally I would say drain the oil and let the metal shavings drain out but you make it sound like it's a piece of metal that broke off inside your Transmission .
Do you know what Transmission you have? 3 speed? 4 speed? Drain your oil. On the side of the tranny there should be an PTO access plate. Remove that to see what the metal piece is and where it came from.
Synco? How's it shift?

well i know there are metal shavings... but it is a nice hunk of metal tumbling around in there.. its the T-150 3 speed. yea one of the syncros.. i think to reverse.. cause it shifts a lil :censored:ty 1-3. but its a pain sometimes to get in reverse.. other than the reverse problem its shifts how a 79 jeep would i guess.. lol i dont think this thing has been serviced in a few years.