Dana 300

Dana 300

AOrangeWIP

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1978 CJ7 Golden Eagle. Atomic Orange paint. AMC 360, TH400 Auto w/ quadra trac T-case, AMC 20 rear, Dana 30 front.
I currently have the QuadraTrac setup in my jeep, but I am planning on going with Dana 44 front and rear axles and SOA lift eventually. I have done enough reading to know that it is going to be a pain to swap axles with my current setup since the quadra trac is offset in the rear. My jeep is factory automatic, and I would like to keep it that way if at all possible, but I do want to change out the Transfer Case . Is it possible to put a Dana 300 or any other good gear driven Transfer Case in with the GM Turbo 400 auto tranny? I am new to the jeep world, but I am really enjoying my jeep so far, so excuse me if I am asking dumb questions. So far the only thing I've done to my jeep is the entire brake system and a little bit of suspension work.

Welcome to Jeeps.

I'll sneak it out there before some one else does, there's a search function in the tool bar. I'm sure if you type in Dana 20 GM Turbo 400 you will get some input. Also don't be afraid to use google the same way. Alot of folks don't like answering questions over and over.. I'm not one of them.

Im pretty sure that the Dana 300 will not bolt up to the 400 with out some adapters and changing output shafts.

If your adding this to your 78 in your profile then the answer should be that you can bolt the Dana 20 right up. Notice the should part. I've never done this but GM Turbo 400 's came from the factory with Dana 20 bolted up. The only thing you may have to worry about is the bull gear. They are a pretty strong T/C.. they came in FSJ running 360's.

Here's a link to Novak adapters
The Dana Spicer Model 20 Transfer Case - Novak Conversions