broken speedo cable piece stuck in transmission

broken speedo cable piece stuck in transmission

Big B

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
78 CJ5, 258 3 speed, stock. Power steering.
The new cable end would not go into the Transmission , so I am assuming this is the problem. There is nothing to grab on to with needle nose, etc. Any ideas ?

unscrew the threaded adapter the cable attaches to on the rear output housing; remove the driven gear for easier access to remove the broken cable end; may take some time to fish it all out.
The original factory speedo cables did not use nylon ends; the cable end was "squared up" on both ends.
This will also allow you to inspect the drive and driven gears for any possible damage to either gear.

Thanks for the input everyone. I have tried soaking it with PB Blaster and using a magnet with no luck. I was trying to avoid opening up the Transfer Case and removing the driveshaft because I am not a mechanic.

Thanks for the input everyone. I have tried soaking it with PB Blaster and using a magnet with no luck. I was trying to avoid opening up the Transfer Case and removing the driveshaft because I am not a mechanic.

non of what you mention is necessary
follow the instructions given above
just remove the driven gear as stated

If you have an after market cable that is nylon try taking a big sewing needle or a scratch awl/ice pick and sticking into the broken off piece and pulling it up at least far enough to get a grip on it.

there may be a reason why the tip broke off, nylon or otherwise.
removing the gear to inspect will tell the story.
otherwise, you may simply brake another cable.

you could also use a toothpick and some hot glue, worked for me. put a SMALL amount of glue on the end of a toothpick and place it in the hole, wait a min or so, then try to pull it out. it might work for you. or do the above and remove the drive gear.